Home : Section 3:   Chuuk | Kosrae | Pohnpei | Yap

Sectio Map 1Sectio Map 2Sectio Map 3Sectio Map 4

Chuuk | Guam | Kosrae | Majuro | Palau
Pohnpei | Rota | Saipan | Tinian | Yap

Photo/Astrid Witte and Casey Mahaney
Federated States of Micronesia

The Federated States of Micronesia (FSM) is divided into four states: Pohnpei, Kosrae, Chuuk and Yap. Mountainous and shrouded in rain forest, Pohnpei is the largest island in the FSM and the center of government. Kosrae is further off the beaten track, closer to the old way of life in Micronesia. Chuuk's 822-square-mile lagoon is littered with more than 60 Japanese warships and a number of planes. Yap's jungled mountains and mangrove-lined bays hide small villages where customary ways of dress and living still exist. Encounters with Manta Rays are almost guaranteed here.

The fishing and diving is superb throughout the FSM, and there are ancient stone cities on both Kosrae and Pohnpei.

Chuuk Pohnpei Kosrae Yap Chuuk Pohnpei Kosrae